Thread: New and eager to learn

New and eager to learn

Hi all, My name is Tim and I live in Topeka KS. I have been involved in working on, coating and repairing firearms for many years now.

I have just begun to recently really look into engraving and the art of engraving. i never imagined such beautiful work could be done by hand! I now have gotten the bug and want to start out on an adventure into engraving and hope to add it to my list of services.

I am a Disabled Vet and had a 4 1/2 month leave from work last year that really screwed the home income up for family of 4! I don't have thousands of dollars to put into equipment, as i have been looking around at equipment and pricing. Honestly has kind of put me off a bit in making me think this is an achievable goal, but i don't want to give up before even getting a start.

One question i would have for others that have started out with no tools or mentor, is what would be a good start to getting tools collected up and getting into practice? Is there somewhere that tools and equipment could be rented for a period of time?

I will continue to look through this forum and Engravers Cafe and any other sources i can come across to start this learning phase.

Thanks in advance for any input!
    Tim

Hello Tim and welcome to the world of engraving and the Fega forum.
    You have come to the right place for some help in getting started.
    I don't know what your disablement is but a good way to get a start without great expense is with hammer and chisel and/or push engraving.